Heat-resistant filament that fits your printer
This page collects heat-resistance figures from manufacturer technical data sheets (TDS) and the printer requirements Bambu Lab publishes for each material. Typical reasons to look for higher-heat material are automotive interior parts, parts left outdoors, motor mounts, and enclosures that sit near a heat source. Nothing here was printed or measured by this site.
How to read the numbers: heat deflection temperature (HDT) is the temperature at which a standard test bar bends a set amount under a fixed load, reported at 0.45 MPa or 1.8 MPa. It is a lab comparison value, not a rated maximum service temperature. Results depend on the test standard, print orientation and whether specimens were annealed, so compare values only when the method column matches. UV resistance is not covered by these tables; check each product's TDS.
What each material needs from the printer
Bambu's material table groups ABS, ASA, PC, PA and their CF/GF variants as needing higher bed and chamber temperatures and recommends an enclosed printer for them (source). The A1 mini and A1 are open-frame; the P1S and X1C are enclosed (source).
| Material group | Open-frame (A1 mini, A1) | Enclosed (P1S, X1C) | Hardened steel nozzle | Nozzle temp (°C) | Bed temp (°C) | Drying before use | Product pages in this database category |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ABS | Not Recommended | Recommended | Not required | 240–280 | 90–100 | Recommended: 80 °C for 8 h (oven) | 127 |
| ABS-GF / ABS-CF | Not Recommended | Recommended | Required | 240–280 | 90–100 | — | 16 |
| ASA | Not Recommended | Recommended | Not required | 240–280 | 90–100 | Recommended: 80 °C for 8 h (oven) | 75 |
| ASA-CF | Not rated (Bambu recommends an enclosed printer) | Recommended (Bambu printer-requirements table) | Required (CF/GF rule) | — | — | — | 25 |
| PC | Not Recommended | Recommended | Not required | 260–290 | 100–120 | Required: 80 °C for 8 h (oven) | 35 |
| PA (unfilled nylon) | Not rated (Bambu recommends an enclosed printer) | Recommended (Bambu printer-requirements table) | Not required per Bambu P1S guide (lists PA among non-abrasive filaments) | — | 100–120 (PA row, build-plate table) | Required: 80 °C for 8–12 h (oven) | 42 |
| PA-CF/GF (incl. PA6-CF/GF, PAHT-CF, PA12-CF) | Not Recommended | Recommended | Required | 260–300 | 100–120 | Required: 80 °C for 8–12 h (oven) | 58 |
| PET-CF/GF | Not Recommended | Recommended | Required | 260–300 | 80–120 (plate-dependent) | Required: 80 °C for 8–12 h (oven) | 11 |
| PPA-CF/GF | Not Recommended | Recommended | Required | 285–320 | 100–120 | — | 6 |
| PPS-CF/GF | Not Recommended | Not listed for P1S/X1C | Required | 310–340 | 100–120 | — | 4 |
| PEEK / PEI / PEKK / PPSU | Not in Bambu table | — | — | — | — | — | — |
- ABS-GF / ABS-CF: Bambu's table has an ABS-GF row; ABS-CF is not a separate row but is named in Bambu's hardened-nozzle guidance for CF/GF materials. (source)
- ASA-CF: No ASA-CF row in Bambu's compatibility table; Bambu's printer table groups ASA "and their CF/GF reinforced materials" under enclosed printers, and its nozzle guidance requires hardened steel for CF/GF materials. Bambu recommends glue stick for ASA-CF. (source)
- PC: PC-CF is named in Bambu's enclosed-printer group; CF variants need a hardened nozzle per Bambu's CF/GF guidance. (source)
- PA (unfilled nylon): Unfilled PA has no row in Bambu's compatibility/nozzle tables; this site currently maps it to "not covered". (source)
- PEEK / PEI / PEKK / PPSU: Not covered by Bambu's material table. Open Filament Database nozzle minimums for these lines (320–400 °C) are at or above the published hotend maximums for the A1 series (300 °C) and X1C/P1 series (320 °C). (source)
- For carbon- or glass-fibre-filled material, Bambu advises against 0.2 mm[src] nozzles and against stainless steel or brass nozzles, and suggests a 0.6 mm[src] hardened steel nozzle as first choice (source).
- Bambu does not recommend feeding very brittle or very rough filaments, such as some PA-CF/GF and PET-CF brands, through the AMS or AMS lite (source).
Printer hardware that matters for heat-resistant material
| Printer | Frame | Stock nozzle | Published hotend max (°C) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bambu Lab A1 mini | open-frame | 0.4 mm stainless steel; hardened steel optional | 300 |
| Bambu Lab A1 | open-frame | 0.4 mm stainless steel; hardened steel optional | 300 |
| Bambu Lab P1S | enclosed | 0.4 mm stainless steel (stainless hotend and extruder gears); hardened steel hotend and gears optional | 320 |
| Bambu Lab X1 Carbon (X1C) | enclosed | 0.4 mm hardened steel | 320 |
Sources: Bambu nozzle guide, P1S abrasive filament upgrade guide. Bambu lists PPS-CF/GF as compatible only with H2 Series and X1E printers, not with the four printers covered here (source).
Heat-resistance values from manufacturer datasheets
Seed table, sorted by HDT at 0.45 MPa. A dash means the datasheet does not give that value, or gives it without a load, so it is left blank rather than estimated. Retrieved .
| Brand | Product | Group | HDT 0.45 MPa (°C) | HDT 1.8 MPa (°C) | Tg (°C) | Vicat (°C) | HDT method | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bambu Lab | PPS-CF | PPS-CF/GF | 264 | 235 | 100 | 268 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens were not annealed before testing. | TDS |
| Bambu Lab | PPA-CF | PPA-CF/GF | 227 | 196 | 85 | 232 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens were not annealed before testing. | TDS |
| Polymaker | Fiberon PA6-CF20 | PA-CF/GF | 215 | 173 | 74.2 | 219.2 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens annealed at 100 °C for 16 h. | TDS |
| Sunlu | PA6-GF | PA-CF/GF | 205.2 | — | 65 | — | ISO 75 (X-Y) | — | TDS |
| Bambu Lab | PET-CF | PET-CF/GF | 205 | 182 | 75 | 226 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens annealed and dried at 80 °C for 12 h before testing. | TDS |
| Sunlu | PA6-CF | PA-CF/GF | 203 | — | 65 | — | ISO 75 (X-Y) | — | TDS |
| Bambu Lab | PAHT-CF | PA-CF/GF | 194 | 170 | 70 | 220 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens annealed and dried at 80 °C for 12 h before testing. | TDS |
| Prusament | PA11 Carbon Fiber | PA-CF/GF | 192 | 152 | — | — | ISO 75 | TDS v1.0 (29-06-2022); annealing not stated. TDS states a hardened nozzle is necessary. No Tg listed. | TDS |
| eSun | ePAHT-CF | PA-CF/GF | 190 | — | — | — | GB/T 1634 | TDS also lists continuous service temperature 150 °C (UL 746B) and short-term max use temperature 180 °C. | TDS |
| Bambu Lab | PA6-CF | PA-CF/GF | 186 | 164 | 68 | 212 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens annealed and dried at 80 °C for 12 h before testing. | TDS |
| Bambu Lab | PA6-GF | PA-CF/GF | 182 | 158 | 67 | 210 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens annealed and dried at 80 °C for 12 h before testing. | TDS |
| Sunlu | PA12-CF | PA-CF/GF | 175 | — | 99 | — | ISO 75 (X-Y) | — | TDS |
| Polymaker | Fiberon PET-CF17 | PET-CF/GF | 147.5 | 105 | 79.3 | 238.4 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens annealed at 120 °C for 10 h. | TDS |
| Sunlu | PEEK | PEEK | 147 | — | 143 | — | ISO 75 (X-Y) | Not covered by Bambu material table. | TDS |
| Extrudr | DuraPro CF PA12 | PA-CF/GF | 139 | 58 | — | 145 | ISO 75-2/B (0.45) and 75-2/A (1.8), unannealed | TDS: unannealed. | TDS |
| Extrudr | DuraPro PA12 | PA (unfilled) | 135 | 55 | — | 142 | ISO 75-2/B (0.45) and 75-2/A (1.8), unannealed | TDS: unannealed. | TDS |
| Polymaker | Fiberon PA12-CF10 | PA-CF/GF | 131 | 105 | 55 | 170.2 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens annealed at 100 °C for 16 h. | TDS |
| Sunlu | PA6 Easy PA | PA (unfilled) | 119 | — | 65 | 135 | ISO 75 (X-Y) | — | TDS |
| Polymaker | PolyMax PC | PC | 114 | 99 | 113 | 117 | ISO 75 | TDS specimen print settings list annealing at 90 °C for 2 h. | TDS |
| Bambu Lab | PC FR | PC | 113 | 108 | 145 | 114 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens annealed and dried at 80 °C for 12 h before testing. Flame-retardant grade. | TDS |
| Prusament | PC Blend | PC blend | 113 | 93 | — | — | ISO 75 | TDS v1.1 (16-02-2022); annealing not stated. No Tg listed on TDS. | TDS |
| Bambu Lab | PC | PC | 112 | 117 | 145 | 119 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens annealed and dried at 80 °C for 12 h before testing. Values copied as printed: the TDS lists a higher HDT at 1.8 MPa than at 0.45 MPa, which is unusual; re-check against a newer TDS revision. | TDS |
| Polymaker | PC-ABS | PC blend | 112 | 106 | 109 | 135 | ISO 75 | TDS specimen print settings list annealing at 90 °C for 2 h. | TDS |
| Polymaker | PolyLite PC | PC | 111 | 107 | 113 | 120 | ISO 75 | TDS specimen print settings list annealing at 90 °C for 2 h. | TDS |
| Polymaker | PolyMide CoPA | PA (unfilled) | 111 | 70 | 66 | 180 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens annealed at 80 °C for 6 h and dried for 48 h before testing. | TDS |
| Bambu Lab | ASA-CF | ASA-CF | 110 | 102 | — | 108 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens annealed and dried at 80 °C for 12 h before testing. TDS lists Tg as "/". | TDS |
| Extrudr | DuraPro PBT PC | PC blend | 110 | 85 | — | 126 | ISO 75-1,-2 | — | TDS |
| Polymaker | PC-PBT | PC blend | 107 | 91 | 140 | 139 | ISO 75 | TDS specimen print settings list annealing at 90 °C for 2 h. | TDS |
| Polymaker | PolyLite ASA | ASA | 103 | 100 | 98 | 105 | ISO 75 | — | TDS |
| Sunlu | PC-ABS | PC blend | 102 | — | 106 | — | ISO 75 (X-Y) | Filed under ABS in the Open Filament Database. No 1.8 MPa value. | TDS |
| Sunlu | ASA | ASA | 101 | — | 108 | 105 | ISO 75 (X-Y) | No 1.8 MPa value. | TDS |
| Sunlu | PC | PC | 101 | — | — | — | ISO 75 (X-Y) | No Tg or 1.8 MPa value on TDS. | TDS |
| Bambu Lab | ASA | ASA | 100 | 92 | — | 106 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens annealed and dried at 80 °C for 12 h before testing. TDS lists Tg as N/A. | TDS |
| Polymaker | PolyLite ABS | ABS | 100 | 98 | 101 | 104 | ISO 75 | — | TDS |
| Bambu Lab | ABS-GF | ABS-GF | 99 | 88 | — | 103 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens annealed and dried at 80 °C for 12 h before testing. TDS lists Tg as N/A. | TDS |
| Sunlu | ABS | ABS | 95 | — | 109 | 86 | ISO 75 (X-Y) | TDS gives ±5 °C on HDT; no 1.8 MPa value. | TDS |
| Prusament | ASA | ASA | 93 | 86 | — | — | ISO 75 | TDS v1.1 (16-02-2022); annealing not stated. No Tg listed on TDS. | TDS |
| Sunlu | High Speed ABS | ABS | 93 | — | 105 | 80 | ISO 75 (X-Y) | No 1.8 MPa value. | TDS |
| Sunlu | ABS-FR | ABS | 90.5 | — | — | — | ISO 75 (X-Y) | TDS gives ±3 °C; Tg and Vicat listed as "/". | TDS |
| Bambu Lab | ABS | ABS | 87 | 84 | — | 94 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens annealed and dried at 80 °C for 12 h before testing. TDS lists Tg as N/A. | TDS |
| Bambu Lab | ASA Aero | ASA | 85 | 78 | — | 80 | ISO 75 | TDS: specimens annealed and dried at 80 °C for 12 h before testing. Foaming/lightweight grade. TDS lists Tg as N/A. | TDS |
| Extrudr | DuraPro ABS | ABS | — | — | — | 92 | — | TDS gives "HDT/B ASTM D648 85 °C" without stating the load, so it is not assigned to a load column here. | TDS |
| Extrudr | DuraPro ASA | ASA | — | — | — | 96 | — | TDS gives "HDT/B ASTM D648 96 °C" without stating the load, so it is not assigned to a load column here. | TDS |
| Overture | ABS | ABS | — | — | — | 103.4 | — | TDS lists Vicat only; no HDT or Tg. | TDS |
| Overture | ASA | ASA | — | — | — | 106.2 | — | TDS lists Vicat only; no HDT or Tg. | TDS |
| Overture | PC Professional | PC | — | — | — | 115.3 | — | TDS lists Vicat only: 115.3 °C for the transparent colour and 110.3 °C for other colours; the transparent value is shown. | TDS |
| Overture | Easy Nylon | PA (unfilled) | — | — | — | 181.2 | — | TDS lists Vicat only; no HDT or Tg. | TDS |
Guides by material
- ABS filament for heat-resistant parts
- ASA filament for heat-resistant and outdoor parts
- Polycarbonate (PC) filament for heat-resistant parts
- Nylon (PA6, PA12) filament for heat-resistant parts
- Carbon-fiber-filled filament for heat-resistant parts
Browse all products by material
Affiliate disclosure: once this site is live, some links like the ones below may be affiliate links, meaning we could earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you. That would not change which data we show. In this prototype, no affiliate program has been joined and these are placeholder links.
[PLACEHOLDER affiliate link] Heat-resistant filament (placeholder)